SolSmart for Garfield Clean Energy member governments

SolSmart is a national designation program recognizing cities, counties and regional organizations that foster the development of local solar markets.

The Garfield Clean Energy board supports the goal of having its member governments achieve Sol Smart designation. It's a way to recognize that solar energy is a valuable resource and that solar development builds the local economy.

With 265 designees nationwide, SolSmart helps local governments bring new business to their community, promote economic growth, and foster the creation of new jobs.

SolSmart is funded by the U.S. Department of Energy Solar Energy Technologies Office.

The goal of SolSmart is to make it faster, easier and more affordable to go solar.

SolSmart provides free technical assistance to help local governments achieve a bronze, silver or gold designation. Important actions leading to designation are:

  • Enhancing local solar markets by making it easier and more affordable for homes and businesses to go solar.
  • Promoting and sustaining local solar related jobs.
  • Improving processes to make them more efficient.
  • Helping communities achieve climate action goals.

The U.S. Department of Energy predicts that solar electric deployment will grow by 1,618 gigawatts by 2050.

Now is the time to review solar planning, codes and permitting to remove any unnecessary barriers and attract the economic benefit of solar development to Garfield County and its municipalities.

The SolSmart review team from the National Renewable Energy Laboratory in Golden, Colo., has completed an initial review for all nine Garfield Clean Energy government partners. The team has charted a simple path to achieve the bronze designation.

Some communities already have enough qualifying SolSmart best practices in place to be close to silver designation.

CLEER's team of experts is providing support to help each member government achieve this designation.

SolSmart designees in Colorado

Click here to see a national map of SolSmart cities, counties and regional organizations.

Adams County
Clear Creek County
Fort Collins
Jefferson County

Boulder County

Broomfield County
Delta County
Pueblo County