Building Energy Navigator

CLEER developed the Building Energy Navigator in 2010 to provide an affordable portal for the local government partners of Garfield Clean Energy to track building energy use and solar production data.

Today, 100 buildings across Garfield County and more than 50 buildings elsewhere in western Colorado use Navigator to monitor energy usage and spending.

The Building Energy Navigator website imports energy bill data and displays it in month, year and multi-year time frames. On-screen buttons zoom in or out on the time scale, and display energy use by BTUs, dollars or carbon emissions.

For large buildings and facilities, on-site data-loggers relay energy use to the Navigator system in 15-minute intervals. Facility managers can log in the next morning to see weather and occupancy variables, and measure the effects of operational adjustments.

Buildings or facilities powered by solar arrays can use the Building Energy Navigator to track renewable energy production and compare it to grid electricity consumption.

Navigator’s live data service puts hourly, daily and weekly energy data directly into the hands of facility managers using dynamic chart options. It uncovers energy use problems early on, and reports how buildings react to operational changes, weather and occupancy.

Garfield Clean Energy's government partners use Building Energy Navigator to deploy the power of data and maximize energy savings.

Visit Garfield Building Energy Navigator website.

To learn more about CLEER's Building Energy Navigator services, visit the CLEER website.

Above, a view of the Garfield County Fairgrounds Riding Arena's Building Energy Navigator data from one week in April 2019.
Building Energy Navigator in Garfield County

Town of Carbondale (13 sites)
City of Glenwood Springs (10 sites)
Town of New Castle (5 sites)
Town of Silt (7 sites)
City of Rifle (8 sites)
Town of Parachute (2 sites)
Garfield County (18 sites)
Colorado Mountain College (24 sites in 6 counties)
Roaring Fork School District (2 sites)
Alpine Bank (3 sites)
Roaring Fork Transportation Authority (7 sites in 2 counties)